There has been no election petition filed by any of the female candidates from the six Constituencies, that contested in last month’s by-election.

This was confirmed by a Senior Clerk of the Ministry of Justice and Courts Administration, who is not allowed to comment on media queries.

This week, seven new Members of Parliament were sworn in, excluding the two women Members of Parliament declared by the Head of State, from the Human Rights Protection Party; Alimalemanu Alofa Tuuau and Fagaseali Sapoa Feagiai.

The Speaker of the House Lio Papalii Masipau delayed it noting the warrant of appointment of the two women is being challenged in court as to the validity, and whether it was issued at the correct time.

The Speaker said the warrant also seems to have been issued prematurely and may be invalid as a petition has been filed by a woman candidate from the by-election as election results are still not finalized, as has been directed by the Court of Appeal.

The women Members of Parliament quota of 10 percent as per the Constitution was activated by the former Electoral Commissioner, Faimalomatumua Matthew Lemisio two days before tendering his resignation given his appointment as Deputy President of the the Lands and Titles Court.

Meanwhile two election petitions has been filed with the Supreme Court at the closing of statutory time to challenge the by-election results, over allegations of bribery and treating.

FAST candidate, Fata Ryan Schuster is challenging H.R.P.P. candidate Maulolo Tavita Amosa for Sagaga 2 constituency. The second petition, is for the Falealili 2 constituency and results is being challenged by RPP candidate, Leleimalegafa Fonotia against FAST candidate Maiava Fuimaono Asafo.