Former Prime Minister Tuilaepa Dr. Sailele Malielegaoi has blamed the Office of the Clerk of the Legislative Assembly on the mix-up which led to the number of different versions of the three controversial bills of the Lands and Titles.

“There are records pointing to the amendments, but for some reason it wasn’t included in the bills,” says the leader of the Human Rights Protection Party.

In a special program with TV1, Tuilaepa said 99 percent of the amendments are there, but only one percent of amendments including grammatical errors were not included in the three bills.

Last week, a Commission of Inquiry was approved by the Legislative Assembly to investigate the discrepancies in the three controversial bills as it has been uncovered there are four different sets of copies which makes difficult to determine the correct Act.

Prime Minister Fiame Naomi Mata’afa said the amendments to the Constitution pertaining to the establishment of an Independent Lands and Titles Court does not address how the appointments are made, as well as salaries and benefits for the Judges of the LTC.

Tuilaepa said the HRPP believes a Commission of Inquiry is unwarranted.

He said the differences pointed out are “minor” for instance in the english versions of LTC bills is the removal of the Vice President and Deputy president title was inserted, these are the types of changes he’s referring to.

Tuilaepa said the Parliament's handsard will outline all the amendments that were approved.

Radio Polynesia reached out to Clerk, Leatisa Uitime Tala for comments but was unsuccessful.

Fiame said in Parliament last week, the Lands and Titles Act 2020 does not include eligibilities for the position of Judges; the term of their contracts and if these issues are not enacted into the law it will jepeordize the independence of the Judiciary.

“Furthermore the management does not have the authority to make the appropriate policies for Judges of the LTC.”

The Prime Minister said the Lands and Titles Act 1981 was replaced with the LTC Act 2020, but there are a numbers of issues that needs to be addressed.

The committee members are Deputy Speaker, Auapaau Mulipola Aloitafua and deputy chairman is Loau Keneti Sio. Other Members sitting on the commission include, Vaele Paiaaua Sekuini, Faleomavaega Titimaea Tafua, Laumatiamanu Ringo Purcell, Tuuu Anasii Leota and Alai’asa Sepulona Moananu.

The terms of reference for the Commission is to make recommendations for a process that should be followed by Parliament in similar matters; investigate the process used that led to the discrepancies of the three Acts in question; look into the legal impact of those actions and for the Commission to make recommendations to assure these types of issues does not arise in the future.